Avison Young announces streamlined board of directors

08 April 2024 Consulting.ca 2 min. read
More news on

Avison Young, a Toronto-headquartered commercial real estate services firm, last week announced a new five-member board of directors.

As part of its recapitalization deal, which closed on March 13 and involved all of its lenders, Avison Young was required to pare down its board from 11 directors to five. The five remaining directors include CEO Mark Rose, two independent directors appointed by Avison Young, and two independents appointed by lenders and investors.

The six departing members are two appointees by investor CDPQ and four internal directors from Avison Young.

The new board is:

Mark Rose has served as CEO of Avison Young since 2008. Before joining the firm, he was CEO of Grubb & Ellis Company and COO & CFO for the Americas region at Jones Lang LaSalle.

Avison Young announces streamlined board of directors

Cynthia Foster Curry previously served as chief revenue officer at Lex, a New York-based commercial real estate investment firm, and president for national office services at Colliers International. She was also previously an executive managing director at Cushman & Wakefield.

Carol Johnson was formerly president and COO at AlliedBarton Security Services, a large physical security services company. Before that, Johnson was EVP for sales and service at Gale (Cengage Learning) and SVP for global sales at staffing firm Kelly Services.

Eva Maglis was previously global chief information officer at IT consultancy CGI, and before that served as president of global infrastructure services. Prior to her time at CGI, Maglis was VP for system operations and services at Bell Canada.

Dean Mullett is currently senior managing director and head of investment banking at FTI Capital Advisors in Canada. He was previously managing director and head of the corporate finance and investment banking practice at Alvarez & Marsal and partner at PwC Corporate Finance.

Avison Young recently appointed Martin Jepil as chief information officer and Rick Jenkins as chief financial officer.